Upcoming Events


East Rowan High School opened in 1959, consolidating Rockwell High School and Granite Quarry High School.  Originally named “East Rowan Senior High School,” the “senior” was dropped from the name when Erwin Junior High (now Erwin Middle) was built in 1967.  Seven principals have served the school:  Guy Swain, Derwood Huneycutt, Joe Lyerly, Boyce Caudle, Clinton LeGette, Harry Starr, and Kelly Sparger.  The school has produced six winners of the prestigious Morehead Scholarship at UNC-Chapel Hill.  Dozens of ERHS alumni have returned to their alma mater to teach and/or coach.  The school’s motto is “Lighting the lamp of wisdom through experience.”  The school’s mascot is the Mustang, and colors are red, white and blue.

Last edited 10-15-2014

Member Links